Dedicated to covering the visual arts community in Connecticut.

Monday, January 30, 2012

Friday opening of "Sound Influence, Part II" at Sumner McKnight Crosby, Jr. Gallery in New Haven

Sumner McKnight Crosby Jr. Gallery
70 Audubon St., 2nd floor, New Haven, (203) 772-2788
Sound Influence, Part II
Jan. 20—Mar. 2, 2012.
Artists' reception: Fri., Feb. 3, 5—7 p.m.

Press release

The Arts Council of Greater New Haven is pleased to present Sound Influence, Part II, in the Sumner McKnight Crosby Jr. Gallery, 70 Audubon St., 2nd floor. The exhibition is curated by local painter and muralist Katro Storm and will be on view during business hours from Jan. 20 through Mar. 2, 2012. A public reception is scheduled for Fri., Feb. 3, from 5—7 p.m.

Katro Storm, the curator, is a prolific artist who delivers meaningful and thoughtful portraits of inspirational leaders and influential city landmarks. A native of New Haven, a former student and teacher at the Educational Center for the Arts, he is a community mentor who continually seeks to create new work and inspire others to do the same. "It’s the challenge of creating something out of nothing that makes it exciting," states Storm. "To push myself to a new level each time I paint." With Sound Influence, Part II, the exhibition examines, as Storms states, "how important sound is to creating art."

The art on display manifests very different responses to sounds that are universal. The exhibit reflects the "sound" environment in which each artist works in, be it the sound surrounding the space they work in or the music they listen to while creating. There are also artists who transfer their visual interpretation of music onto canvas, much like choreographers who compose a dance piece based on a specific piece of music.

Participating artists: Aoke, Michael Angelis, Ian Applegate, Jahmane Art, Lee Adam Beard, Dooley-O, Renald Davidson, Orlando Dome, Paul Duda, EROS 165, Hayward Gatling, Rob Greenberg, Ellen Hackl Fagan, Aniko Horvath, Marta Machabli, Conrad Mecheski, Destiny S. Palmer, John Rodrigues Brewer, Steve Ross, Reo Russo, William T. Saunders, Craig Streater Smith, Rob Stull (see image), Kristin Thomas, Alison K. Walsh, Janet Warner and Charlie Win.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home