Reception Thursday evening for group show at Pardee-Morris House in New Haven
New Haven Museum
114 Whitney Ave., New Haven, (203) 562-4183
House, Reinterpreted 2012
July 26—Aug. 26, 2012.
Opening Reception: Thurs., July 26, 5:30 p.m.
The New Haven Museum is pleased to announce an opening reception to be held for House, Reinterpreted 2012 at the historic Pardee-Morris House at 5:30 p.m. on Thurs., July 26, 2012. House, Reinterpreted 2012 is a site-specific art installation featuring new works by New Haven artists, including Cynthia Schwarz, Jessica Schwind, Joseph Smolinski, Anna Russell, Todd Jokl, Alison Walsh and others. The works on display are inspired by and created directly in response to the rich history of the Pardee-Morris House dating back to the early days of the New Haven Colony. House, Reinterpreted 2012 will be on display through August 26 2012.
The Pardee-Morris House is one of the oldest surviving historic structures in Connecticut, and dates from about 1780. Built by Amos Morris around 1750, the house was burned by the British during their raid on New Haven in 1779 and was rebuilt by the Morris family. In 1918, William Pardee, a descendant of the Morris family, willed the property to the New Haven Colony Historical Society, today the New Haven Museum. The Pardee-Morris House is open free of charge on Sundays from 12—5 pm through August 26, 2012. Look for special events at the House throughout the summer season.
The New Haven Museum, founded as the New Haven Colony Historical Society in 1862, is located in downtown New Haven at 114 Whitney Avenue.