Dedicated to covering the visual arts community in Connecticut.

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Friday Photo Arts Collective opening at Sumner McKnight Crosby Jr. Gallery, formerly the Small Space Gallery

Sumner McKnight Crosby Jr. Gallery
70 Audubon St., 2nd floor, New Haven, (203) 772-2788
Spectra 2009
Mar. 19-May 22, 2009
Opening reception: Fri., Mar. 20, 5-7 p.m.

Press release

The Arts Council of Greater New Haven presents Spectra 2009 in the Sumner McKnight Crosby Jr. Gallery (formerly Small Space Gallery) at 70 Audubon St., 2nd floor. The exhibit takes place from Thur., Mar. 19 through Fri., May 22, with an artists' reception on Fri., Mar. 20, from 5 to 7 p.m. The public is invited to attend.

Spectra 2009 is the annual members show of the Photo Arts Collective, an Arts Council program whose mission is to cultivate and support a community of individuals who share an interest in photography, through workshops, lectures, exhibitions, portfolio reviews, group critiques and special events.

Spectra 2009 includes photographs by Joe Azoti, Christopher Beauchamp, Joy Bush, Penny Cook, Rod Cook, Jim Fiora, Bob Giannotti, Kenneth Hanson, Sharon Hirsch, Art Johnson, Roy Money, Dana Osborn, Maryann Ott, David Ottenstein, Archie Stone, John Weinland and Marjorie Wolfe.

Ott, who sits on the Photo Arts Collective's Steering Committee, said Spectra 2009 is an "incredibly diverse" collection of work that features color and black-and-white photography, analog and digital photography, and alternative and traditional processes.

"This particular show ... is probably our strongest," Ott said.

The Photo Arts Collective, Ott said, is "a place for people who share a passion for photography to gather," collaborate, talk, learn, share and debate. Open to Arts Council members, the Photo Arts Collective meets the first Thursday of each month at the Kehler Liddell Gallery, 873 Whalley Ave., New Haven.

For more information about Spectra 2009, the Photo Arts Collective and the Sumner McKnight Crosby Jr. Gallery, please call the Arts Council at (203) 772-2788.


Post a Comment

<< Home